RSS

The Oxford Comma Controversey

09 Dec

Of all the stupid arguments I have heard on the news coming up, or glanced over a headline of online.. I came across The Oxford comma controversey.

I thought it was at least worth looking into considering the way people write these days. I’ve seen commas used way too many times in a sentence when they should have used a semicolon and a comma etc.

I wasn’t aware there were different ‘types’ of commas. In school I was just told where to put one and then you put one space after it (and 2 after a period) and then go on with your writing. The sample the site gives about I’d like to thank my parents, the president, ad the vice president they do not note that even with the comma, can still be mistaken as the parents ( especially if someone does not see well). This can be fixed by adding:

I’d like to thank my parents, as well as the President and Vice President, and I don’t know about you but to me  it’s makes you sound like you are well spoken, as well as much clearer on what you mean.

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 9, 2015 in Coherence, Grammar, Reading, Writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

